Skip to content

Ohio County Schools Foundation


OCS Foundation Information

Investing In Your Public Schools
... Investing In The Future Of Your Community

What is the Ohio County Schools Foundation
The Ohio County Schools Foundation is a means through which citizens, businesses, industries, agencies, and others may make gifts or bequests to Ohio County Public Schools for either general or specific use. The Foundation allows contributions by those who feel affection and a sense of responsibility for the school system. By contributing to the future, you make an investment in the quality of life for all citizens of our community.

How may I contribute?
You may contribute by contacting the Ohio County Board of Education, Superintendent's Office. The accounts of the Foundation shall be audited annually. The Foundation provides donors a way to invest in the public school system, realizing it is an investment in the quality of life for all citizens of the community. All contributions to the Ohio County Schools Foundation Inc., are tax deductible.

What types of contributions are received?
The Foundation will receive, hold, and administer any bequests, securities, real estate, wills, insurance, objects, gifts of labor, and professional time, as may be given, devised or bequeathed to the fund. Contributions may include: annuities, trusts, endowments, memorial gifts, matching grants, and cash gifts

How are contributions used?
Gifts and bequests may be general in nature, or they may be specified for particular use. The distribution of proceeds from designated donations will follow the wishes of the donors as outlined in separate regulations governing the designated gifts. In the absence of specific direction from the donor, the Foundation Board of Trustees will direct the distribution of funds as may best comply with the Foundation's purpose. A record of all donors of the Foundation will be kept and proper recognition, excepting those requesting anonymity, will be given.

How is the Foundation governed?
The Foundation is governed by a Board of Trustees appointed by the Ohio County Board of Education. The Board of Trustees consists of the Board President, Superintendent, Business Manager, Director of Student Services, a principal, a teacher, a service employee, and two community members. All appointees serve without compensation by the Foundation.

OCS Foundation Designations

What types of designations are made to the Foundation?
Designated funds may be used in the manner specified by the donor. Below are some of the types of designations currently in the fund.

Donald E. & Eleanor S. Wilson Memorial Endowment
A renewable scholarship recognizing the importance of technology. These funds are for graduating seniors at Wheeling Park High School attending West Virginia Northern Community College, West Liberty State College, Wheeling Jesuit University, or Bethany College.

Edward C. Gaughan Scholarship
This scholarship is for a graduating Wheeling Park High School senior attending a degree-granting institution to become a professional educator.

Augustus Pollack Scholarship 
This scholarship is for a graduating senior who meets specified eligibility criteria and is at Wheeling Park High School enrolling in a college, technical school, or other accredited post secondary approved institution.

Patrick Latos Memorial Scholarship/Grant 
This fund includes both a scholarship for a graduating senior at Wheeling Park High School involved in orchestra and financial assistance grants for additional opportunities involving strings instruction.

George E. Stifel Prizes 
These prizes reward academic achievement to students in grades 5 through 12. These funds encourage students to strive for academic excellence.

Bequest from the Estate of Fred A. Wilson
Bernice Archer Memorial Scholarship Fund
Phyllis Beneke Visual and Performing Arts Scholarship
Judy Siebieda Boyles, RN, Memorial Fund
Tom Dale Scholarship Fund
Clarence "Dick" Dei Memorial Scholarship Fund
Mary Dolan Scholarship Fund
Garret and Kelly Evans Memorial Fund
Entrepreneurial Awards
Sara Jane Fritz Estate
Edward C. Gaughan Scholarship Fund
Harry Loyal Jones and Jean DeLo Jones Award
Katherine Wildpret Koss Memorial Scholarship Fund
Patrick Latos Memorial Scholarship Fund
Deputy Ron Meyer Memorial Scholarship Fund
Ohio County Association of Retired Employees Scholarship
Ohio Valley Jamboree Scholarship
Augustus Pollack Scholarship Fund
Sarah Ashley Pennybacker Scholarship Fund
Marissa Rhodes Scholarship Fund
Heather Miller Memorial Scholarship
Helen Marie Sharp Fund
David M. Slaysman Memorial Scholarship
Pam Spargo Memorial Scholarship Fund
Sterling Memorial Scholarship
Swallow Memorial Scholarship
Carolyn Walker Scholarship Fund
Warwood Middle School Band Scholarship
Wheeling High School Alumni Fund
Wheeling Park Alumni Association
Wheeling Park High School Academic Awareness Scholarship
Donald E. and Eleanor S. Wilson Scholarship Fund