Skip to content

Title I


Title I is the largest single program of federal aid for elementary and secondary education. The program is the vehicle for the federal government to implement two missions of the United States Department of Education: enforcing equity and promoting excellence in education.

Ohio County Schools has six Title I Schools, which are listed below:

  • Bridge Street Middle School
  • Elm Grove Elementary School
  • Madison Elementary School
  • Middle Creek Elementary School
  • Ritchie Elementary School
  • Warwood School
  • Wheeling Middle School

The schools employ reading specialists, math specialists, and home-school intervention counselors to help support the mission of the Title I Program. Key components of the Title I Program are professional development and parental engagement.

One (1) Title I school was named 2012-13 West Virginia Title I Distinguished Schools. To be selected as a West Virginia Title I Distinguished School, each school must have met the following criteria:

  • Been in operation for three or more consecutive years;
  • Been a Title I school for three or more consecutive years;
  • Have full West Virginia accreditation status; and
  • Have made Adequate Yearly Progress (AYP) separately in reading and math for three or more consecutive years.


The Ohio County Schools Federal Programs are represented by a Federal Programs Parent Advisory Council:

Marsha Woods  Bridge Street Middle
Joanie Keen     Elm Grove Elementary
Mecheal Bowers    Madison Elementary
Rebecca Raines Middle Creek Elementary
Gaynelle Amos Ritchie Elementary
Nikki Lenz St. Vincent
Buddy Filben Wheeling Middle

Additional information about Title I programs can be found on the West Virginia Department of Education website at